Valentia

Green smoothie time!

Posted in food by Val on October 23, 2012

Hoped back on to the smoothie wagon.

Looks appetizing no?

source

Yes last time I did it, it drove me slightly insane but hey..the good feeling you get from drinking healthy stuff is always good. Kinda cancels out all the yummy but evil things I like to indulge in such as wine, chocolate and anything potato-ey.Plus I’ve realized that living away from mummy sort of makes me revert into my bread and cheese loving self…I still eat fruits (love) but veggies? Not so much..so I had to get some down my system with the quickness.

I decided to be making green smoothies and other vegetable/fruit mixed juices. So jana I got syke to make a sukuma, pineapple, ginger and apple smoothie for breakfast. I got the sukuma from the garden and placed them on the counter so I’d would have no excuse in the morning (I’m not a morning person so yeah)…my dad meanwhile was looking at me and asking me why I’m eating raw nyeni (greens)..haha I just told him I’m making a smoothie. He nodded and moved on to other things (like why my sisters and my mom continuously spoil all the electronics in the house and car but that’s another story).

Made the mistake of using the food processor and adding too much ginger. So what I had was finely mashed green mush, not juice as I intended..and I know ginger is good for me (kwanza the way I have a homa now..) but eh..there is something about raw ginger..it has a ka-kick to it. But I’m a ninja so I guzzled that mix down as I was getting ready..but yeah I’ve learned my lesson. I’ll use the blender kesho and add some banana and def less ginger.

Anyone else a green smoothie lover? What do you put in yours? I’m planning to put some spinach kesho.. Things to try include: avocado, carrot, nuts, pawpaw, pineapple, apple, cucumber, orange, lemon, lime, broccoli (how this will go down sijui), lettuce, mint, natural yoghurt, fruit juices (the kind without sugar), but no celery! The stuff makes me gag..

I figure I may as well try as many combinations as I can while I’m still excited about them.

ValFM:

  • Work (original mix)- Masters at work
  • Hello it’s me- Groove Theory
  • Adorn- Miguel
  • Crescent moon- Lynden David Hall (I’ve been listening to his two albums on and off recently..love him!)

 

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. healthygirlandthecity said, on October 23, 2012 at 3:29 pm

    regardless of the smoothie, i often throw in a handful or two of spinach or kale…you can’t even tell it’s in there!!! :)

    Haha really?

  2. petesmama said, on October 24, 2012 at 11:58 am

    Eww! All I can say is best of luck! You can be healthy for the rest of us!

    Will do (while I’m on the smoothie wagon anyway).

  3. Kenyanbestforum.com said, on November 15, 2012 at 4:35 pm

    Healthy is definitely the way to go.

  4. Ghafla!Guy said, on November 26, 2012 at 12:54 pm

    Great! This reminds me of pikachakula.com … They have great recipes too!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

